USDA: 55 Ind. counties in natural disaster area - WDRB 41 Louisville News

USDA: 55 Ind. counties in natural disaster area

Posted: Updated:

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) -- Farmers in 55 drought-stricken counties in Indiana will be eligible for disaster assistance under changes made by the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

The USDA has announced it was streamlining the process for farmers to apply for disaster help, making more than 1,000 counties nationwide eligible for assistance. A map released by the USDA shows primary disasters are being declared in 36 counties in Indiana and 19 contiguous counties.

The eligible primary counties are in 20 northeastern counties -- as far west as St. Joseph and Pulaski counties and as far south as Carroll and Howard counties -- and in 16 southwestern counties -- as far east as Crawford County and as far north as Sullivan, Greene and Lawrence counties. Farmers in adjacent counties also are eligible.

Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 WDRB. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.