BOZICH: Smith, Zeller, Canaan Make Wooden Mid-Season Top 25 - WDRB 41 Louisville News

BOZICH: Smith, Zeller, Canaan Make Wooden Mid-Season Top 25

Posted: Updated:
U of L guard Russ Smith made the Wooden Award mid-season Top 25 watch list. U of L guard Russ Smith made the Wooden Award mid-season Top 25 watch list.

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (WDRB) – Before the season University of Louisville guard Russ Smith was not picked as one of the top 15 players in the Big East in a vote of league coaches. Peyton Siva, Gorgui Dieng and Chane Behanan were all picked ahead of him – and they were also listed on the pre-season Top 50 watch list for the John Wooden national player of the year award. 

It's time for a recount. Smith is the only U of L player to make the Mid-Season Top 25 list for Wooden Award, which was announced Thursday evening. Smith is one of five Big East players on the list.

Smith is joined by two other local players – Indiana center Cody Zeller and Murray State guard Isaiah Canaan.  Two other IU players – Christian Watford and Victor Oladipo – did not make the list, although Watford was a Top 50 selection in November.

The Wooden All-American team will be announced during the week of the Sweet Sixteen of the NCAA Tournament, and the winner will be announced on Final Four weekend in Atlanta.

Former Kentucky star Anthony Davis won the award as a freshman last season. No Kentucky players made the Top 25 this season. Three freshmen were recognized – Anthony Bennett of UNLV, Marcus Smart of Oklahoma State and Ben McLemore of Kansas.

Smith, Zeller, Michigan guard Trey Burke, Creighton forward Doug McDermott and Duke center Mason Plumlee are considered the top contenders to win the award.

The Top 25 list features a dozen seniors, six juniors and four sophomores.

Here is the entire list:

  1. Anthony Bennett, UNLV, freshman forward
  2. Laurence Bowers, Missouri, senior forward
  3. Trey Burke, Michigan, junior guard
  4. Isaiah Canaan, Murray State, senior guard
  5. Michael Carter-Williams, Syracuse, sophomore-guard
  6. Jack Cooley, Notre Dame, senior center
  7. Seth Curry, Duke, senior guard
  8. Jamaal Franklin, San Diego State, junior guard
  9. Erick Green, Virginia Tech, senior guard
  10. Elias Harris, Gonzaga, senior forward
  11. Pierre Jackson, Baylor, senior guard
  12. Sean Kilpatrick, Cincinnati, junior forward
  13. C.J. McCollum, Lehigh, senior guard
  14. Doug McDermott, Creighton, junior forward
  15. Ben McLemore, Kansas, freshman forward
  16. Brandon Paul, Illinois, senior guard
  17. Mason Plumlee, Duke, senior center
  18. Otto Porter Jr., Georgetown, sophomore forward
  19. Phil Pressey, Missouri, junior guard
  20. Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State, freshman guard
  21. Russ Smith, Louisville, junior guard
  22. DeShaun Thomas, Ohio State, junior forward
  23. Jeff Withey, Kansas, senior center
  24. Nate Wolters, South Dakota State, senior guard
  25. Cody Zeller, Indiana, sophomore center 

 Copyright 2013 WDRB News. All Rights Reserved

  • Sign Up for the WDRB Sports Newsletter

    * denotes required fields

    Thank you for signing up! You will receive a confirmation email shortly.
Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 WDRB. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.