BALTIMORE (WDRB) --- The day before the Preakness I left the Stakes Barn at Pimlico with one conclusion after listening to four different trainers that have all won Triple Crown races - despite being on the rail, it would be a stunner if Orb doesn't win the Preakness.

The question of "How does Orb lose the Preakness?" has become humorous with some reporters outside the Stakes Barn. The love affair with Orb's chances Saturday has become so great Jay Privman of the Daily Racing Form tweeted,

"Noted bath experts say Orb's bath this morning might be the greatest bath they've seen in the history of baths."

So in case you hadn't heard, Orb is the horse to beat.

Here are some notes on the race with history Orb will have to overcome, also with links to the raw video of our interviews from Friday morning below:

- Orb drew the 1-post, also known as the rail. The last Preakness winner from that spot was Tabasco Cat in 1994. 

- Tabasco Cat is the lone winner from the rail in the past 52 runnings of the Preakness.

- With only 9 horses, this is the smallest Preakness field since 2007.

- The 2nd, 3rd, and 4th place finishers from the Derby did not enter...Golden Soul, Revolutionary, and Normandy Invasion, respectively. 

- Goldencents' jockey Kevin Krigger is African-American. He will try to become the first African-American jockey to win the Preakness since Willie Simms in 1898. He is the first to ride in the Preakness since Wayne Barnett finished 8th in 1985.

- Mylute's jockey Rosie Napravnik is only the 3rd woman to ride in the Preakness and the first since 1994. No woman has ever rode to victory in the Preakness.

- There are three new shooters in the Preakness, meaning horses that didn't win in the Derby...Departing, Govenor Charlie, and Titletown Five. Since 1962, only seven horses won the Preakness, after not running in the Kentucky Derby, and the latest almost doesn't count since Rachel Alexandra won the Kentucky Oaks the day before the Derby. Here are those exceptions to the rule over the past 51 years:

2009 Rachel Alexandra
2006 Bernardini
2000 Red Bullet
1983 Deputed Testamony
1980 Codex
1972 Bee Bee Bee
1962 Greek Money


My Preakness picks: Win - Orb, Place - Departing, Show - Itsmyluckyday (except if it's raining)...and throw in Govenor Charlie for the Superfecta.



Shug McGaughey (trainer, Orb) - click here

Bob Baffert (trainer, Govenor Charlie) - click here

D. Wayne Lukas (trainer, Oxbow, Will Take Charge, Titletown Five) - click here

Doug O'Neill (trainer, Goldencents) - click here

Rosie Napravnik (jockey, Mylute) - click here