Wesley Korir wins Derby Festival miniMarathon in close finish - WDRB 41 Louisville News

Wesley Korir wins Derby Festival miniMarathon in close finish

Posted: Updated:
LOUISVILLE, Ky. (WDRB) --  Louisville's Wesley Korir pulled out a victory in the miniMarathon today by only 17 hundredths of a second.

Korir edged out the win over Simion Chirchir with a time of 1:03:35:07, while Chirchir clocked in his second place finish at 1:03:35:24. This is Korir's fourth miniMarathon win. 

Caroline Kiptoo of Newport, Kentucky took the top spot in the women's division of the miniMarathon with a time of 1:15:46. 

Aaron Pike of Illinois and Lindsey McGlinch of Ohio took home the titles in the men's and women's wheelchair divisions. 

About an hour after the miniMarathon wrapped up, Birhanu Tadesse of Washington, DC was the first runner to come in from the marathon with a time of 2:17:54.

Then Tezata Dengersa took home the women's marathon title with a time of 2:43:51.

Wheelchair division
Aaron Pike 0:48:52 Urbana, Il
Matthew Porterfield 0:59:41 Knoxville, TN
Chad Johnson 1:10:37 Corydon, IN
Women's wheelchair division
Lindsey McGlinch 1:33:22 Greenville, OH
Men's division
Wesley Korir 1:03:35:07 Louisville, KY
Simion Chirchir 1:03:35:24 Chapel Hill, NC
George Towett 1:04:42 Hebron, KY
Women's division
Caroline Kiptoo 1:15:46 Newport, KY
Allison Morgan 1:15:52 Lexington, KY
Marion Kandie 1:16:09 Bowling Green, KY
Men's division
Birhanu Tadesse 2:17:54 Washington, DC
Getachew Asfaw 2:20:50 Silver Spring, MD
Joseph Amenya 2:25:51 Grand Prairie, TX
Women's division
Tezata Dengersa 2:43:51 Washington, DC
Stephanie Telek 2:53:38 Dayton, OH
Anya Martinez 2:58:25 Louisville, KY

Copyright 2014 WDRB News. All rights reserved.
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WDRB. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.