Murray, Ky. high school students advance to Sweet 16 of National - WDRB 41 Louisville News

Murray, Ky. high school students advance to Sweet 16 of National Science Bowl

Posted: Updated:
WASHINGTON, D.C. (WDRB) -- A team of students from Calloway County High School advanced to the Sweet 16 in the Department of Energy's National Science Bowl. The team will now face off against Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology.

Landon Fike, Cody Bergman, Hudson Elliott, Sam Morehead and Josh Betts won the Kentucky Regional High School Science Bowl to make it to the National Science Bowl. They are coached by chemistry teacher Erica Gray and Mia Beth Morehead. 

A team from Lone Oak Middle School, in Paducah, also competed. Drew Schofield, David Dodd, David Perriello and Ethan Brown from Paducah took part in the electric car competition Sunday. 

The competition is being held in Washington, D.C. and involves more than 9,300 high school students and 5,200 middle school students from all over the country. The winning team will get a trip to Alaska to lean about geology, marine and avian biology and plate tectonics. The second place team will win a guided tour of Great Salt Lake Park, Yellowstone National Park and Grand Teton National Park. 

DOE created the competition in 1991 to encourage students to pursue the math and science fields. Sign-ups for next year's competition will begin in October. 

Copyright 2014 WDRB News. All rights reserved.
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WDRB. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.