Clark Co. incumbents, 3 GOP Ind. legislators swept from office - WDRB 41 Louisville News

Clark Co. incumbents, 3 GOP Ind. legislators swept from office

Posted: Updated:
INDIANAPOLIS (WDRB/AP) -- Democrat voters in Clark County swept two incumbent circuit judges and an incumbent county commissioner out of office in the Tuesday primary election. They also chose not to nominate a retired and senior judge for the county clerk's race. The moves mean that names familiar in county politics for decades will likely not appear on the general election ballot in November.

Newcomer Laura Harbison defeated Circuit Court No. 2 incumbent judge Jerry Jacobi. Jacobi is the judge who had oversight of the troubled Drug Court program suspended by the state supreme court. It also is the subject of a federal lawsuit and continuing review by the state. It was too early Tuesday to say if the scandal involving Drug Court led to Jacobi's defeat.

Challenger Andrew Adams defeated Circuit Court No. 1 judge Daniel Moore. Republicans did not field candidates for the circuit judge positions in the primary. The GOP could nominate candidates no later than June 30.

Challenger Susan Popp defeated retired and senior judge Steven Fleece for the Democrat nomination for county clerk; Popp will face Republican Kelly Harrod in the fall. Harrod ran unopposed in the primary.

A three-way race for the Democrat nomination for District 3 Clark County Commissioner ended with former officeholder David Abbott the winner over Dennis Ettel and incumbent appointee John Perkins. Perkins is long-time Jeffersonville council member and county official. Abbott will face Republican Bryan Glover in November. Glover ran unopposed in the primary.

Sheriff's Captain Brian Meyer defeated the sheriff's dept. chief of detectives, Donnie Bowyer, and former Clarksville police chief Dwight Ingle for the Democrat nomination for county sheriff. Meyer will face state trooper and Republican Jamey Noel in the fall.

Election watchers estimated primary turnout in Clark County at between 10 and 15 percent, about the norm for a mid-term primary. The election featured no city or town races.
See below for links to Floyd County and other county results.

Three incumbent Indiana legislators have lost their re-election bids in the Republican primary, while some others won tough races.

Veteran Republican Sen. John Waterman of Shelburn lost a close race to Washington City Councilman Eric Bassler in southwestern Indiana.

Rep. Rebecca Kubacki of Syracuse and Rep. Kathy Heuer of Columbia City lost to challengers who targeted their votes against the proposed state constitutional gay marriage ban.

Kubacki was defeated by Curt Nisly of Goshen. He's the husband of the Elkhart County Republican chairwoman. Heuer lost to tea party conservative Christopher Judy of Fort Wayne.

Meanwhile, House Education Chairman Robert Behning of Indianapolis defeated a critic of state-funded private school vouchers. Fort Wayne Rep. Bob Morris won a narrow race two years after his criticism of the Girl Scouts drew scorn.
Copyright 2014 WDRB News and The Associated Press. All rights reserved.
Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 WDRB. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.