Hunter-Reay holds off Castroneves to win Indy 500 - WDRB 41 Louisville News

Hunter-Reay holds off Castroneves to win Indy 500

Posted: Updated:
INDIANAPOLIS (AP) -- Ryan Hunter-Reay has become the first American to win the Indianapolis 500 since 2006, making a dramatic pass of Helio Castroneves on the final lap to win Sunday's race in the second-closest finish in history.

Hunter-Reay was passed for the lead with three laps remaining a year ago and went on to finish third. But after swapping the lead with Castroneves following a restart with six laps to go, it was the Andretti Autosport driver who made the final and decisive pass.

Castroneves finished second in his bid for his fourth Indy 500 victory. Marco Andretti was third and Carlos Munoz was fourth.

Kurt Busch was sixth in his first race of the day. He was expected to immediately fly to North Carolina for Sunday night's NASCAR Sprint Cup race.

The Andretti name was in the lead once again in the closing laps of the Indy 500.

Once again, it was somebody else who headed to Victory Lane.

Marco Andretti's bid to end his family's infamous curse at Indianapolis Motor Speedway came up short on Sunday when he was passed by Ryan Hunter-Reay with 17 laps remaining, and couldn't get back within striking distance of his teammate during the closing laps.

Andretti finished third behind Hunter-Reay and Helio Castroneves, who waged a dramatic duel after a red flag came out for a wreck with 10 laps left in the second-closest finish in history.

Andretti led 20 laps, moving him into fifth place in career laps led by drivers who have not won. His father, Michael Andretti, tops the dubious list.

Complete Results:

1. Ryan Hunter-Reay
2. Helio Castroneves
3. Marco Andretti
4. Carlos Munoz
5. Juan Pablo Montoya
6. Kurt Busch
7. Sebastien Bourdais
8. Will Power
9. Sage Karam
10. JR Hildebrand
11. Oriol Servia
12. Simon Pagenaud
13. Alex Tagliani
14. Jacques Villenueve
15. Sebastian Saavedra
16. James Davison
17. Carlos Huertas
18. Ryan Briscoe
19. Takuma Sato
20. Jack Hawksworth
21. Mikhail Aleshin
22. Justin Wilson
23. Martin Plowman
24. Pippa Mann
25. Townsend Bell
26. Tony Kanaan
27. Ed Carpenter
28. James Hinchcliffe
29. Scott Dixon
30. Josef Newgarden
31. Charlie Kimball
32. Buddy Lazier
33. Graham Rahal

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.
Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 WDRB. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.