Louisville City placed in USL-Pro Eastern Conference ahead of 20 - WDRB 41 Louisville News

Louisville City placed in USL-Pro Eastern Conference ahead of 2015 season

Posted: Updated:
The USL-Pro conference alignment map for 2015. (Source: http://uslpro.uslsoccer.com/) The USL-Pro conference alignment map for 2015. (Source: http://uslpro.uslsoccer.com/)
LOUISVILLE, Ky. (WDRB) -- The United Soccer Leagues Pro division announced a conference-alignment Monday, consisting of Eastern and Western Conferences. 

As Louisville City FC prepares for its first season the league, the announcement means it will play in the Eastern Conference -- taking on all teams in the conference twice.

The league expanded to 24 teams for its 2015 season -- adding 10 more than last year -- with the establishment of franchises in new markets along with the addition of seven MLS franchise-owned clubs.

The full 2015 schedule for Louisville City FC is expected in the next seven to 10 days, according to coach James O'Connor. 

This year, for the first time, USL-Pro will be split into 12-team conferences, with teams facing each of their conference opponents at least twice during the 28-game regular season. 

That leaves Louisville City with six games to play against teams in the Western Conference.

“Transitioning to a conference-based structure is consistent with our long-term growth strategy and enabled by the rapid expansion of the league,” USL PRO Executive Vice President Jake Edwards said. “This new format will promote regional rivalries, allowing fans greater opportunity to support their clubs home and away as the league continues to bring its brand of professional soccer to enthusiastic markets throughout the U.S. and Canada.

Eastern Conference

  • Charleston Battery
  • Charlotte Independence
  • FC Montreal
  • Harrisburg City Islanders
  • Louisville City FC
  • New York Red Bulls
  • Pittsburgh Riverhounds
  • Richmond Kickers
  • Rochester Rhinos
  • Saint Louis FC
  • Toronto FC II
  • Wilmington Hammerheads FC

Western Conference

  • Arizona United SC
  • Austin Aztex
  • Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC
  • LA Galaxy II
  • OKC Energy FC
  • Orange County Blues FC
  • Portland Timbers 2
  • Real Monarchs SLC
  • Sacramento Republic FC
  • Seattle Sounders FC 2
  • Tulsa Roughnecks FC
  • Vancouver Whitecaps FC 2

Copyright 2015 WDRB News. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 WDRB. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.