Louisville City FC adds two attacking midfielders as pre-season - WDRB 41 Louisville News

Louisville City FC adds two attacking midfielders as pre-season looms

Posted: Updated:
LOUISVILLE, Ky. (WDRB) -- Louisville City Football Club announced the addition Thursday of two more players to their roster in Magnus Rasmussen and Niall McCabe.

Pre-season begins Monday, Feb. 16 and players have been arriving in town all week.

As the club looks to build it's roster in preparation for their March 28 kickoff against St. Louis FC, Rasmussen and McCabe fill roster slots nine and 10 (just enough to field a team without a goalie).

Rasmussen comes to Louisville from Danish second division side BSV (Boldklubben Søllerød-Vedbæk -- good luck with that), he was a forward for the club until his contract expired in 2014. Louisville City says Rasmussen's move is still pending international approval. 

“Magnus is very technical player with great receiving skills,” head coach James O'Connor said. “He is overall a very talented footballer and we look forward to his contributions to our attack this season.”

The 21-year-old told Danish website Tipsbladet.dk that he is looking forward to the adventures in the United States and though BSV offered to re-sign him, he couldn't pass up the opportunity to play in the United States.

Niall McCabe, a 5'10" midfielder from Dublin, Ireland, is a product of Young Harris College. He ended his career atop the record books for Young Harris College with 95 points and 31 assists and second in goals with 32.While a senior at Young Harris College, Niall McCabe was named the Disney Soccer/National Soccer Coaches Association of America NCAA Division II National Men's Soccer Player of the Week in 2013.

“Niall has great vision and awareness,” O'Connor said. “He has very good game understanding and a tremendous work ethic. We know what he's capable of and we are thrilled to have him join us in Louisville.”

Louisville City FC
Name Pos. Country
Guy Abend M Israel
Bryan Burke D USA
Kadeem Dacres M USA
Matt Fondy F USA
Juan Guzman M USA
Niall McCabe F Ireland
Magnus Rasmussen M Denmark
Sean Reynolds D USA
Conor Shanosky M USA
Adam West D USA

Copyright 2015 WDRB News. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 WDRB. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.