LOUISVILLE, Ky. (WDRB) – The American Civil Liberties Union of Kentucky filed a lawsuit Thursday against Rowan County over the county clerk’s refusal to issue marriage licenses.

According to a release, the suit was filed on behalf of four Rowan County couples -- two same-gender couples and two opposite-gender couples -- who were denied marriage licenses by County Clerk Kim Davis.

After the U.S. Supreme Court ruling made same-sex marriage legal across the country, Davis has refused to provide marriage licenses to any couple citing “religious concerns”.

Attorney Laura Landenwich filed the suit with the ACLU.

“Ms. Davis has the absolute right to believe whatever she wants about God, faith, and religion, but as a government official who swore an oath to uphold the law, she cannot pick and choose who she is going to serve, or which duties her office will perform based on her religious beliefs,” Landenwich said.

Alongside the ACLU, the couples named in the suit are April Miller & Karen Roberts, Shantel Burke & Stephen Napier, Jody Fernandez & Kevin Holloway, and L. Aaron Skaggs & Barry W. Spartman.

Related: Casey Co. Clerk says conscience won't allow him to issue marriage licenses

Copyright 2015 WDRB News. All rights reserved.