KONZ | JCPS awards top principals, administrators at Back To Sch - WDRB 41 Louisville News

KONZ | JCPS awards top principals, administrators at Back To School retreat

Posted: Updated:

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (WDRB) -- More than 500 principals, assistant principals, counselors and other central office administrators in Jefferson County Public Schools attended Wednesday's annual administrative kickoff at Gheens Academy on Preston Highway.

During the event, Superintendent Donna Hargens named the top principal of the year for elementary, middle and high school.

She also named the top assistant principals for middle and high schools; the top guidance counselor for elementary, middle and high schools; the top family resource center coordinator; the top youth service center coordinator and the top school support services administrator.

Elementary School Principal of the Year: Cheryl Rigsby, Fern Creek Elementary School

Middle School Principal of the Year: Gwen Snow, ESL Newcomer Academy

High School Principal of the Year: Tom Knabel, Churchill Park School

Elementary School Assistant Principal Award: Steve Stark, Field Elementary School

Middle School Assistant Principal Award: Samual Casper, Brooklawn School

High School Assistant Principal Award: Derieco Irvin, Fairdale High School

Elementary Counselor Award: Wendy Anderson, Stonestreet Elementary School

Middle School Counselor Award: Cheryl Newbern, Lassiter Middle School

High School Counselor Award: Christy Brockman, Waggener High School

Family Resource Center Coordinator Award: Regina Jackson-Willis, Engelhard Elementary School

Youth Service Center Coordinator Award: Dixie Griffin, Jeffersontown High School

School Support Service Award: Dena Dossett, director of planning for JCPS

The first day of school for JCPS students is Wednesday, Aug. 12, 2015.

Be sure to check out WDRB's Back to School website for all of our latest tips, stories and pictures. 

Reporter Antoinette Konz covers K-12 education for WDRB News. She can be reached at 502-585-0838 or @tkonz on Twitter.

Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 WDRB. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.