LOUISVILLE, Ky. (WDRB) -- Federal help is coming to Kentucky following July storms.

Storms from July 11-20 caused heaving rain and flash flooding, killing four people in Johnson County.

President Obama just signed a disaster declaration. That means businesses and residents there and in Trimble County can apply for help. Local governments are eligible for aid in dozens of other counties, including Carroll and Spencer. 

The move comes days after Kentucky Governor Steve Beshear sent a letter to President Obama, asking the President to issue the declaration for Carter, Johnson, Rowan and Trimble counties.

"This system produced prolonged episodes of heavy rain, strong winds, hail and isolated tornadoes, which caused flooding, flash flooding, landslides and mudslides," Gov. Beshear wrote in the letter, according to the news release. "The impact of this weather has severely affected a large portion of the Commonwealth."

Gov. Beshear has already issued an executive order declaring a state of emergency for all of Kentucky on July 13, at which time the Commonwealth's Emergency Operations Plan and the Commonwealth Emergency Operations Center were activated.

Copyright 2015 by WDRB News. All rights reserved.