7 local teachers nominated for Kentucky teacher of the year awar - WDRB 41 Louisville News

7 local teachers nominated for Kentucky teacher of the year award

Posted: Updated:

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (WDRB) – Seven local teachers were named in the Kentucky Department of Education’s Teacher Achievement Awards Wednesday.

The seven teachers from Bullitt, Jefferson or Oldham Counties are part of a group of 24 teachers eligible for the 2016 Teacher of the Year Award.  

The 24 teachers are:

  • Gina Beasley, Brooks Elementary, Bullitt County
  • Uealajean Crawford, Wyan-Pine Grove Elementary, Laurel County
  • Joshua DeWar, Engelhard Elementary, Jefferson County
  • Sarah Lockard, A.C. Glasscock Elementary, Marion County
  • Emily Lomax, Foster Traditional Academy, Jefferson County
  • Michele McCloughan, T. C. Cherry Elementary, Bowling Green Independent
  • Julie Moore, Wellington Elementary, Fayette County
  • Marcia Ward, A.B. Combs Elementary, Perry County
  • Tonya Artman, Crosby Middle, Jefferson County
  • Karen Mallonee, College View Middle, Daviess County
  • Natalie McCutchen, Franklin-Simpson Middle, Simpson County
  • Meredith Patton, Bullitt Lick Middle, Bullitt County
  • Rick Rafferty, Highlands Middle, Fort Thomas Independent
  • Corbin Snardon, Paducah Middle, Paducah Independent
  • Carmen Thompson, Elkhorn Middle, Franklin County
  • Lee Campbell, Knox Central High, Knox County
  • Cathy Conley, Knott County Central High, Knott County
  • Terrilyn Fleming, Central High Magnet Career Academy, Jefferson County
  • Ashley Lamb-Sinclair, North Oldham High, Oldham County
  • Tracy Lambert, Lafayette High, Fayette County
  • Carlos Pena-Rivera, Henry Clay High, Fayette County
  • Amanda Ratliff, Johnson Central High, Johnson County
  • Pennye Rogers, Todd County Central High, Todd County
  • J. Wes York, Caldwell County High, Caldwell County

All 24 educators will be honored in October at a ceremony at the State Capitol Building. The 24 will be narrowed down to elementary, middle and high school teachers of the year. Then one will be selected as the overall teacher of the year.

Teachers can apply for the award by submitting teaching philosophies, experience and involvement in their communities. The applicants are reviewed by veteran teachers.

According to the KDE, over $700,000 has been awarded to 524 teachers of grades K to 12 as part of the awards since 1988.

Previous: JCPS educator named 2015 Teacher of the Year

Copyright 2015 WDRB News. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 WDRB. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.