LOUISVILLE, Ky. (WDRB) -- The first day of the 2016-17 school year will be Aug. 10, 2016 -- and if there are no snow days -- the last day will be May 24, 2017.

That's the calendar that the Jefferson County Board of Education approved on Monday night. 

Here are some highlights:

First day: Wednesday, Aug. 10, 2016

Winter break: Monday, Dec. 19, 2016 through Monday, Jan. 2, 2017

Spring break: Monday, April 3-7, 2017 

Last day: Wednesday, May 24, 2017

Reporter Antoinette Konz covers K-12 education for WDRB News. She can be reached at 502-585-0838 or @tkonz on Twitter.

Copyright 2015 WDRB Media. All rights reserved