FRANKFORT, Ky. (WDRB) -- Ashley Lamb-Sinclair, an English teacher from North Oldham High School, was named Kentucky's 2016 Teacher of the Year during a ceremony held Tuesday morning at the State Capitol.

Lamb-Sinclair began her career at Bryan Station High School in Lexington. She then taught for four years in Jefferson County before working in Oldham County Schools. She is a national board certified teacher, as well as a Fulbright and Oxford Scholar.

According to her biography on the district's website, Lamb-Sinclair loves reading, writing, travel and spending time with her husband and daughter.

Another local teacher, Joshua DeWar from Engelhard Elementary School in Jefferson County, was a semifinalist in the annual competition. He was named Kentucky's 2016 Elementary School Teacher of the Year.

DeWar has been a teacher at Englehard since January 2013. According to his biography on the school's website, his favorite subjects to teach are writing, reading and science. 

DeWar and Lamb-Sinclair are among 24 teachers who were named in the Kentucky Department of Education’s Teacher Achievement Awards on Sept. 9. 

Three from each grade level were named semifinalists as the competition was narrowed to elementary, middle and high school teachers of the year. The semifinalists included: 

  • Joshua DeWar, Engelhard Elementary, Jefferson County
  • Sarah Lockard, A.C. Glasscock Elementary, Marion County
  • Michele McCloughan, T. C. Cherry Elementary, Bowling Green Independent
  • Karen Mallonee, College View Middle, Daviess County
  • Rick Rafferty, Highlands Middle, Fort Thomas Independent
  • Carmen Thompson, Elkhorn Middle, Franklin County
  • Lee Campbell, Knox Central High, Knox County
  • Ashley Lamb-Sinclair, North Oldham High, Oldham County
  • Tracy Lambert, Lafayette High, Fayette County

Each Teacher Achievement Award winner received a cash gift of $500; two of the three finalists received a cash gift of $3,000; and the Teacher of the Year received a cash prize of $10,000, along with an exciting professional development opportunity or a classroom grant.

The 2015 Teacher of the Year was Sarah Reed, a third grade teacher from Field Elementary School in Louisville.

According to the Kentucky Department of Education, over $700,000 has been awarded to 524 teachers of grades K to 12 as part of the awards since 1988.

The Kentucky Teacher Awards program combines the best elements of the Ashland Inc. Teacher Achievement Awards and the Kentucky Teacher of the Year programs. According to KDE, this is 14th year for this collaboration between the private industry and public education.

Reporter Antoinette Konz covers K-12 education for WDRB News. She can be reached at 502-585-0838 or @tkonz on Twitter.

Copyright 2015 WDRB Media. All rights reserved.