SLIDESHOW: 1976 Indiana University national champions honored to - WDRB 41 Louisville News

SLIDESHOW: 1976 Indiana University national champions honored tonight at Assembly Hall

Posted: Updated:

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (WDRB) -- The college basketball world has its eyes on Bloomington tonight, as the 1976 Indiana Hoosiers' undefeated national championship team is being honored at Assembly Hall.

Nine of the 12 members of the team are in town, including all five starters. Their head coach, Bob Knight, is not in attendance.

The team was being honored at halftime of the Hoosiers' game against Wisconsin.

“It was incredibly special to be back at IU with my teammates,” forward Tom Abernethy said. “It was a tremendous team with a fantastic coach who achieved something truly remarkable. I cannot thank IU enough for bringing us all together to celebrate our 40th anniversary.”

Back in 2016, IU trailed much of the first half to Wisconsin and went into the break down four. Indiana quickly turned it around in the second half, and pulled away to lead by as much as six with under 10 minutes to play.

A later Badger run tied the game with about one minute to play, but the Hoosiers got some key stops down the stretch, holding on for a 59-58 win.

IU was led by senior guard Yogi Ferrell with 19 points, three rebounds and two assists.

LANE | Blackmon, Jr. Having Knee Surgery

Copyright 2016 WDRB News. All rights reserved.

  • Sign Up for WDRB's Sports Newsletter

    * denotes required fields

    Thank you for signing up! You will receive a confirmation email shortly.
Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 WDRB. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.