LOUISVILLE, Ky. (WDRB) -- Louisville City will remain in the United Soccer League's Eastern Conference for the 2016 season, the club announced today in conjunction with the club's conference alignment. 

With an influx of new teams over the course of the past year, USL has made a few adjustments to the league's format for the 2016 season -- with a total of 29 teams competing. 

With six new teams in the league this season, Louisville City's rival Saint Louis FC jumped to the Western Conference. But Louisville will likely find a new rival in conference foe FC Cincinnati.

The six new teams in 2016 are Bethlehem Steel FC (Pennsylvania), FC Cincinnati, Orlando City B (Orlando City's new affiliate), Rio Grande Valley FC (Texas), The Swope Park Rangers (Fielded by Sporting Kansas City) and San Antonio. 

The two conference format will remain much the same as last year, with the winner of each conference squaring off in the USL Cup championship. The 29 teams will be divided into 14 Eastern Conference teams (including Louisville City) and 15 Western Conference teams (now including Louisville City's rival Saint Louis FC). 

The 30-game regular season will kick off March 25 and conclude on Sept. 25.

Here's the full alignment:

Eastern Conference Western Conference
Bethlehem Steel FC** Arizona United SC
Charleston Battery Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC
Charlotte Independence LA Galaxy II
FC Cincinnati** OKC Energy
Harrisburg City Islanders Orange County Blues FC
Louisville City FC Portland Timbers 2
FC Montreal Real Monarchs SLC
New York Red Bulls II Rio Grande Valley FC**
Orlando City B** Sacramento Republic FC
Pittsburgh Riverhounds Saint Louis FC*
Richmond Kickers San Antonio**
Rochester Rhinos Seattle Sounders
Toronto FC II Swope Park Rangers FC**
Wilmington Hammerheads FC Tulsa Rouchnecks FC
Vancouver Whitecaps FC
**New team *New conference

Copyright 2016 WDRB News. All rights reserved.