LOUISVILLE, Ky. (WDRB) -- Police say they have arrested three suspects after a man was shot in the back and robbed of a winning lottery ticket.

The 19-year-old victim was robbed on Feb. 7, not long after buying a winning lottery ticket worth $1,000 at the Marathon Gas Station on Taylor Blvd. Police said he had just left the store and was on the phone discussing the winning ticket when he was shot in the back and robbed.

Police arrested 40-year-old James Watts and 21-year-old Andrel Page on Feb. 23. They say both men made statements indicating they were involved in the robbery.

Page is charged with assault and robbery and is being held on a $10,000 cash bond. Watts is charged with facilitation to robbery. His bond was set at $50,000 cash.

Both men were in court Wednesday morning where not guilty pleas were entered on their behalf.

Police also arrested a Larry Felton in connection with the crime.

"We believe that they're the driver of the vehicle," said Det. Kevin Peak, with LMPD's 4th Division.

"I was walking down the street and he grabbed me and he said, 'where's the ticket' and as soon as I turned around he shot me," said Zach Blakley, who was shot and robbed. "I told him he didn't have to shoot me over the ticket. And I threw the ticket on the ground, and he grabbed it and ran off."

Police believe one of the suspects was watching and listening when Blakley discovered he had won.

Det. Peak said, "Andrel told us that he followed the guy in the vehicle from the store. He jumped out ran up to him, pushed the kid down, and took the lottery ticket, and he said he shut his eyes and fired the gun at him."

Watts and Page turned themselves in to police shortly after our story aired on Monday.

Det. Peak said, "They saw themselves on the news and came in to our office and spoke with detectives."

Blakley has visible scars from the gunshot, but he said there are some wounds you can't see.

"I can't really sleep, I just keep thinking about the stuff that happens everyday."

The Kentucky Lottery paid Blakley for the winning ticket.


Copyright 2016 WDRB Media. All rights reserved.