Democrats hold onto Ky. House with 3 wins in 4 special elections - WDRB 41 Louisville News

Democrats hold onto Ky. House with 3 wins in 4 special elections Tuesday

Posted: Updated:

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (WDRB) -- The fate of the last legislative chamber in the South still controlled by Democrats was in the hands of a few thousand Kentucky voters in four House districts throughout the state Tuesday.

Democrats won a crucial House seat in District 98, to thwart the threat of Republican control over state government.

Republicans held on to Kentucky House seat in District 54 with Daniel B. Elliott's victory, while the GOP conceded the District 98 race to Lew Nicholls. 

"Republicans in the State House are one seat closer to taking the majority ... I am confident we will take the majority and turn Kentucky in a new direction in November," said Mac Brown, Chairman of the Republican Party of Kentucky.

Democrat Chuck Tackett won District 62, a Kentucky House seat previously held by Republicans, while the GOP conceded District 8 in western Kentucky.

"Kentuckians have spoken, and this is a repudiation of Gov. Bevin's efforts to dismantle public education and healthcare," said Kentucky Democratic Party Chair Sannie Overly. "These Democrats won because they are all good leaders – and they will serve Kentucky well. Tonight is not just a victory for them, but it is a victory for every Kentuckian." 

Here are up-to-date results of the races in the districts:

State House District 8

   10 of 27 precincts - 37 percent

   Jeffery Taylor, Dem 1,394 - 82 percent (Winner, GOP Concedes)

   Walker Thomas, GOP 315 - 18 percent

State House District 54

   2 of 40 precincts - 5 percent

   Bill Noelker, Dem 3,040 - 42 percent

   Daniel Elliott, GOP 4,275 - 58 percent (Winner, AP Calls)

State House District 62

   31 of 42 precincts - 74 percent

   Chuck Tackett, Dem 3,464 - 52 percent (Winner, AP Calls)

   Phillip Pratt, GOP 3,214 - 48 percent

State House District 98

   4 of 32 precincts - 13 percent

   Lew Nicholls, Dem 4,737 - 57 percent (Winner, GOP Concedes)

   Tony Quillen, GOP 3,515 - 43 percent

Copyright 2016 WDRB Media. All rights reserved.

  • Sign Up for WDRB's Sports Newsletter

    * denotes required fields

    Thank you for signing up! You will receive a confirmation email shortly.
Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 WDRB. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.