LOUISVILLE, Ky. (WDRB) -- The two new men in charge of Kentucky State Police are officially on the clock.

Commissioner Richard Sanders and Deputy Commissioner William Payne were sworn in during a private ceremony at the Capitol Wednesday.

Both appointments were recommended to Governor Matt Bevin by an eight-member search committee that included Justice Secretary Tilley, Rep. Robert Benvenuti (R-Lexington), two retired KSP officers, three current KSP officers and a community representative.

Before taking the new position, Sanders had served as the Jeffersontown police chief since 2007.

Sanders has more than 40 years of law enforcement experience. Most of his experience is with the federal Drug Enforcement Agency.

Payne was the Major of Operations at the Jeffersontown Police Department.

Copyright 2016 by WDRB News. All rights reserved