Nominations sought for 2017 Kentucky Teacher of the Year - WDRB 41 Louisville News

Nominations sought for 2017 Kentucky Teacher of the Year

Posted: Updated:

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (WDRB) -- Do you know an outstanding Kentucky teacher who deserves recognition?

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2017 Kentucky Teacher Awards, sponsored by the Kentucky Department of Education and Valvoline, a business unit of Ashland Inc

Teachers may be nominated by students, parents, teaching peers, principals, superintendents or anyone from the community who has an interest in honoring an outstanding educator. 

The deadline for nominations is May 15 and nominations may be submitted electronically by visiting the 2017 Kentucky Teacher of the Year website.

Any full-time public school teacher in Kentucky with at least three years of experience is eligible.

Additional qualifications are cited on the application. 

In 2016, seven local teachers from Jefferson, Bullitt and Oldham counties were named in the Kentucky Department of Education’s Teacher Achievement Awards.

Oldham County's Ashley Lamb-Sinclair was named 2016 Kentucky Teacher of the Year in October.

Each Teacher Achievement Award winner receives a cash gift of $500; two of the three finalists receive a cash gift of $3,000; and the Teacher of the Year receives a cash prize of $10,000, along with an exciting professional development opportunity or a classroom grant.

In addition, Joshua DeWar from Engelhard Elementary School in JCPS was a semifinalist in the annual competition. He was named Kentucky's 2016 Elementary School Teacher of the Year.

The 2015 Teacher of the Year was Sarah Reed, a third grade teacher from Field Elementary School in Louisville.

All nominated teachers are required to complete a formal application, which must be submitted by June 30.

Judging will take place in August and up to 24 finalists will be announced in September.

Reporter Antoinette Konz covers K-12 education for WDRB News. She can be reached at 502-585-0838 or @tkonz on Twitter.

Copyright 2015 WDRB Media. All rights reserved.

  • Sign Up for WDRB's Sports Newsletter

    * denotes required fields

    Thank you for signing up! You will receive a confirmation email shortly.
Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 WDRB. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.