LOUISVILLE, Ky. (WDRB) -- We are proud to announce that our team of journalists won a 2016 regional Edward R. Murrow Award for its investigation of illegal synthetic drugs being sold at local stores.

The awards, given by the Radio Television Digital News Association, recognize the best electronic journalism produced by radio, television and online news organizations around the world.

The category and award in which WDRB won this year is in large market television, hard news for the station's investigation and coverage of illegal synthetic drugs. The story was investigated and reported by Toni Konz and Tamara Evans. Photographers Jeff Gordon and Beth Peak and Chief Photographer Vince Vermeulen worked as a team to help film, edit and produce the outstanding coverage.

This is the station's third regional Murrow award in just two years and WDRB is the only television station in Louisville to be awarded with the distinction this year.

RTDNA received more than 4,300 entries during the 2016 awards season, setting an all-time record for the fourth year in a row.

This year, a total of 654 regional Edward R. Murrow Awards were awarded in 14 categories, including overall excellence, breaking news, investigative reporting and website.

"Our winners shed light on important issues and solve problems in their communities," added RTDNA Executive Director Mike Cavender. "We're proud to recognize their achievements."

The Murrow Awards have been given out since 1971.

Regional winners automatically advance to the national Edward R. Murrow Awards competition, which will be judged in May. National awards will be announced in June and awarded in October.

To see a complete list of the regional winners, you can click here.

Copyright 2016 WDRB Media. All rights reserved.