LOUISVILLE, Ky. (WDRB) -- Kentucky Governor Matt Bevin has appointed five new members to the Kentucky Board of Education, according to a news release. 

The board develops and adopts the regulations that govern Kentucky's 173 public school districts and the actions of the Kentucky Department of Education. It is comprised of 12 members, each serving four-year terms. The governor appoints 11 voting members, seven representing the Supreme Court districts and four representing the state at large. The additional member, the president of the Council on Postsecondary Education, serves as a non-voting member.

The appointees are as follows:

Ben Cundiff: A resident of Cadiz, Kentucky, Cundiff has been appointed for the remainder of a term expiring in April 2018. Cundiff is a chemical engineer and an attorney.

Gary W. Houchens: A resident of Bowling Green, Kentucky, Houchens has been appointed for a term expiring April 2020. Houchens is an associate professor in the Department of Educational Administration, Leadership and Research at Western Kentucky University.

Alesa G. Johnson: A resident of Somerset, Kentucky, Johnson has been appointed for a term expiring April 2020. Johnson is an electrical engineer and serves as associate dean for Workforce Solutions at Somerset Community College.

Rich Gimmel: A resident of Louisville, Kentucky, Gimmel has been appointed for a term expiring in April 2020. Gimmel is chairman of Atlas Machine and Supply, Inc.

Milton C. Seymore: A resident of Louisville, Kentucky, Seymore has been appointed for a term expiring in April 2020. Seymore is retired from Ford Motor Company and currently serves as pastor of Energized Baptist Church. 

"I am very impressed with the talent, experience and knowledge of the newest members of the Kentucky Board of Education," said Kentucky Education and Workforce Development Cabinet Secretary Hal Heiner, according to the news release. "Our prime responsibility as adults is to prepare the next generation for their most fulfilled life, and that responsibility starts with providing a high-caliber education to every student. It is tremendously important that Kentucky has the best leadership available for the board so that we can move with a new resolve in meeting the needs of all our children."

"I welcome the new Kentucky Board of Education members," said Kentucky Education Commissioner Stephen Pruitt, according to the news release. "Each of them brings unique experiences and expertise that will help us build on our successes, spotlight our challenges and make improvements for the future. Our collective goal is to ensure that all of our students are provided with a quality, well-rounded education that prepares them for the next step in their lives and ultimately, to be successful, productive citizens of the Commonwealth, the nation and the world. Guided by the pillars of our work -- equity, achievement and integrity -- I look forward to working with the board to do what is best for all our children and our Commonwealth."

Copyright 2016 by WDRB News. All rights reserved.