Millions in state money will help southern Indiana communities u - WDRB 41 Louisville News

Millions in state money will help southern Indiana communities update roads

Posted: Updated:

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (WDRB) -- The McCullough Pike bridge over Brown Station Way in Clarksville is a critical link to New Albany. 

It's used by an estimated 25,000 to 30,000 cars each day. Next spring, it will be rebuilt thanks to a $1 million gift from the state.

"It is important for their safety and well-being that they have a great crossing to use," said Clark County Commissioner Jack Coffman.

The money is part of $160 million the state is handing out as part of the Community Crossings grant fund state lawmakers established this year. INDOT commissioner Brandye Hendrickson says it's a continuation of Indiana's commitment to infrastructure that's been virtually unequaled in the last decade, projects that have included the Ohio River bridges.  

"We've seen first-hand the impact of investing in infrastructure on community development and job growth," Hendrickson said. "Community crossings is a way to leverage state funds to help cities, towns and counties across the state achieve infrastructure upgrades that can have the same transformative effect at the local level."

Jeffersonville is also getting a $1 million of that money. There, it will be used to improve a part of Tenth Street that will soon be the site of a major retail development.

"No longer will you have to cross the river to go shopping at a department store," Jeffersonville Mayor Mike Moore said. "No longer will you have to go on the other side of (I-65) to eat at a restaurant."

These grants do have some strings.  Communities have to provide an equal amount of funding to be spent to improve roads and bridges.

"It shows that communities are investing in infrastructure to build the types of neighborhoods where people want to start businesses, grow businesses, and live and work," Hendrickson said.

Among the other area communities getting Community Crossings funds, Clark County, Floyd County, Charlestown, New Albany, Scott County and Scottsburg will each see $1 million. Seymour is getting $960,000.

Copyright 2016 WDRB Media. All rights reserved.

  • Sign Up for WDRB's Sports Newsletter

    * denotes required fields

    Thank you for signing up! You will receive a confirmation email shortly.
Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 WDRB. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.