Election 2016: Voters in Kentucky and Indiana to decide key race - WDRB 41 Louisville News

Election 2016: Voters in Kentucky and Indiana to decide key races

Posted: Updated:

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (WDRB) -- Voters in both Kentucky and Indiana have key races to decide on election day in addition to the presidential race.

In Kentucky, Republican Rand Paul is running for reelection to Kentucky's U.S. Senate seat. But he's being challenged by Lexington's Democratic mayor Jim Gray.

Kentuckians will decide three seats to the U. S. House in the WDRB viewing area. In the 1st Congressional District, Republican and former Kentucky Agriculture Commissioner James Comer faces Democrat Samuel Gaskins. In the 3rd District, Democratic Incumbent John Yarmuth is running against Republican Harold Bratcher. And in Kentucky's 4th District, it's Incumbent Republican Thomas Massie facing Democrat Calvin Sidle.

There are numerous Kentucky State House and Senate races to be decided. Two seats are up for grabs on Louisville's Metro Council. Democrat Cindi Fowler faces Republican Shane Ranschaert in the race for Council District 14. In Council District 16, Republican Scott Reed is running against Democrat Gill Holland.

And three seats are being decided on the Jefferson County Public Schools board. In District 2, Incumbent David Jones, Jr. is running for re-election against James Fletcher and Chris Kolb. In District 4, voters choose between Keisha Allen and Benjamin Gies. And in District 7, Incumbent Chris Brady is fending off a challenge from Scott Majors, James Sexton and Fritz Hollenbach.

Indiana, voters will choose a new governor, since Mike Pence opted not to run for re-election, so he could join Donald Trump as his vice presidential nominee. The candidates for governor include Republican Eric Holcomb, Democrat John Gregg and Libertarian Rex Bell.

The contentious U. S. Senate for Indiana race pits Democrat Evan Bayh against Republican Todd Young and Libertarian Lucy Brenton.

Indiana voters in the WDRB viewing area will decide three seats in the U. S. House. In the 6th Congressional District, voters can choose from Democrat Barry Welsh, Republican Luke Messer and Libertarian Rich Turvey. In the 8th District, Republican Larry Bucshon, Democrat Ron Drake and Libertarian Andrew Horning are running for the seat. And in the 9th Congressional District, voters will decide between Democrat Shelli Yoder, Republican Trey Hollingsworth and Libertarian Russell Brooksbank.

Statewide races include Indiana's attorney general, the superintendent of education and a constitutional amendment on the right to hunt and fish.

The New Albany/Floyd County School district has a construction bond issue on the ballot. And there are school board races in Floyd County, Greater Clark, West Clark and Clarksville Community school districts.

Polls are open 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. (local time) in both Kentucky and Indiana. It's important to note that if you are in line to vote when polls close, you will be allowed to vote.

Find your polling location in Kentucky

Find your polling location in Indiana

Copyright 2016 WDRB News. All Rights Reserved.

  • Sign Up for WDRB's Sports Newsletter

    * denotes required fields

    Thank you for signing up! You will receive a confirmation email shortly.
Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 WDRB. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.