LOUISVILLE, Ky. (WDRB) -- Louisville sophomore quarterback Lamar Jackson was named one of five finalists for the Walter Camp Foundation Player of the Year award on Wednesday.

The Walter Camp Award is given annually to the college football player of the year, as voted on by 129 Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors.

The winner will be announced on Dec. 8 during the 6 p.m. edition of ESPN's SportsCenter.

The winner will receive his trophy at the Foundation’s 50th annual national awards banquet on Saturday, January 14, 2017 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

Former University of Alabama and current Tennessee Titans running back Derrick Henry won the award last year.

A list of the finalists, with bios provided by The Walter Camp Foundation:

JONATHAN ALLEN – ALABAMA – Senior – Defensive Line – The leader of the nation’s leading scoring defense (11.4 points allowed per game) and rushing defense (68.7 yards allowed per game), Allen posted 52 tackles, seven quarterback sacks and 13 quarterback hurries. He has also returned two fumbles for touchdowns.  The top-ranked Crimson Tide (12-0) face Florida on Dec. 3 in the Southeastern Conference title game.

JAKE BROWNING – WASHINGTON – Sophomore – Quarterback – The offensive leader of the fourth-ranked Huskies (11-1), Browning enters Saturday’s Pac-12 title game against Colorado ranked No.3 in the nation in pass efficiency (181.64) and No. 4 in passing touchdowns (40).  He has passed for 3,162 yards, completing 65.0 percent of his passes.  Browning has also rushed for four touchdowns.

LAMAR JACKSON – LOUISVILLE – Sophomore – Quarterback – Jackson has accounted for 51 touchdowns (30 passing, 21 rushing) for the 9-3 Cardinals.  He has thrown for 3,390 yards (220-for-382) and rushed for 1,538 yards – which is good for second in the Atlantic Coast Conference.  He passed 300 or more yards four times, and had eight 100-yard rushing efforts.  He was a three-time Walter Camp National Offensive Player of the Week (Sept. 4, Sept. 11 and Nov. 6).

JABRILL PEPPERS – MICHIGAN – Junior – Linebacker/Returner – The first player in Big Ten history to collect three individual honors (Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year, Linebacker of the Year and Return Specialist of the Year), Peppers has posted 72 tackles, 16 for losses, four quarterback sacks and one interception. Peppers averaged 14.8 yards per via punt returns and scored one touchdown, and 26.0 yards per kickoff return. He also rushed 27 times for 167 yards and three touchdowns while catching two passes.

DESHAUN WATSON – CLEMSON – Junior – Quarterback – The leader of the third-ranked Tigers offense, Deshaun Watson has accumulated 4,070 yards of total offense and 38 total touchdowns.  He has passed for 3,626 yards (306-of-453) and 34 touchdowns this season.  Watson’s 302.2 passing yards per game average leads the Atlantic Coast Conference.  Clemson (11-1) will play Virginia Tech on Dec. 3 in the ACC Championship Game.

Copyright 2016 WDRB Media. All Rights Reserved.