LOUISVILLE, Ky. (WDRB) -- Statues across Louisville will soon be getting a closer look.

Louisville Mayor Greg Fischer has announced the members of his new Public Art and Monuments Advisory Committee.

The seven-member committee will develop principles for evaluating historic art and monuments around the city.

The committee members are:

  • Tricia Burke
  • Carolle Jones Clay
  • Dr. Dewey Clayton
  • Ashley Haynes
  • Dr. Tom Owen
  • Dr. Chris Reitz
  • Cathy Shannon

The committee members come from multiple disciplines including art, history, political science, business and community building.

Last year, protesters claimed the Castleman Statue in the Highlands and others like it celebrate slavery.

Mayor Fischer says the goal is to help make public spaces welcoming, while still honoring the city's rich history.

The committee’s first meeting is scheduled for Feb. 7 from 5 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. in the auditorium of the main branch of the Louisville Free Public Library.

Between 5 and 5:30 p.m., the public will be able to engage with committee members for a meet-and-greet discussion. Members of the public are also invited to provide written comments at the meet and greet session.


Copyright 2018 WDRB News. All rights reserved.