Dana Evans

Dana Evans

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (WDRB) -- Dana Evans, a consensus All-American and one of the most decorated women's players in University of Louisville history, was selected with the No. 13 pick of the WNBA Draft by the Dallas Wings on Thursday night.

Evans matches the the seventh-highest pick in the draft for the Louisville program, which had Angel McCoughtry go No. 1 in 2009, Shoni Schimmel No. 8 in 2014 and Asia Durr, her former teammate, No. 2 in 2019, along with Jazmine Jones, who went No. 12 in 2019. Evans and Kylee Shook were both taken with No. 13.

She had been projected as a top 10 pick in most mock draft, but slipped to the first pick of the second round after several foreign players were taken early. In her post-draft interview with ESPN's Holly Rowe, Evans said she would only make her draft night experience serve as motivation.

"It's a blessing," Evans said. "I'm just excited to finally hear my name. I guess it's motivation, because I didn't expect to be this far. I'm ready to take on whatever I've got to do. I'm excited."

Dallas president and CEO Gregg Bibb called Evans "the steal of the draft." He wasn't really in the market for a point guard, but said he couldn't pass on Evans as a player.

"She’s a top-five player talent-wise in my mind," he said. "While we weren’t necessarily looking for a point guard coming in, it wasn’t necessarily a priority when you have an opportunity to draft a player as talented as Dana Evans in the second round you don’t hesitate. You take that opportunity and run with it."

Evans ended her Louisville career with 1,715 points, 521 assists and a record of 122-15. She is the only player in program history to win four ACC regular season championships and she finishes with both the fewest losses and best winning percentage in program history.

Among her many accolades, she was named Associated Press First Team All-American following her senior season. She is just the third player in program history to be named an AP First Team All-American, joined by McCoughtry (2008-09) and Durr (2017-18, 2018-19).

Evans also was named ACC Player of the Year for the second consecutive season, following in the footsteps of Durr, who won the award the two years prior. In 2020, she became the first player in ACC history to win player of the year immediately following a year in which she won sixth player of the year. Evans also joined Durr in being the only two players in school history to be named the ACC’s Kay Yow Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Bibb said he could tell Evans wasn't happy slipping into the second round, but suggested it will only serve to motivate her.

“We were fortunate it worked out that way for us,” Bibb said. “I could tell that she was disappointed and I understand that. I think she already realizes that she can use that disappointment of motivation and I am certainly going to remind her of that. . . . She is going to come into our camp and have every opportunity to prove to everyone that passed on her before we took her that they made a mistake, and I am excited to see how that pans out.”

Copyright 2021 WDRB Media. All Rights Reserved.